Blogging About Baseball

162 games, even more blogs. From college to the minors to the pros. It's all here.

San Fran’s Lincecum comes up short on no-hit bid against Padres.

with 2 comments

I’ll admit it. I thought the Giant’s Tim Lincecum was going to throw the season’s first no-no last night.

He was tossing against an anemic San Diego Padre’s lineup and from the MLB Network live look-ins, it was clear Lincecum was really dealing.

And when second baseman Juan Uribe made a diving stop up the first base gap in the fifth, I thought for sure it was in the bag.

Beautiful pitching, ugly hair.Yeah, it’s totally a leap of faith to proclaim a no-hitter in the fifth inning of a game, but this outing had all the trappings of one: Lincecum has a 1.43 career ERA against the Padres, his changeup was diving like its other occupation was dolphin, the defense was playing good behind him, and he was riding a hefty scoreless innings streak.

I had enough confidence in the 160 pound boy (let’s face it, he’s not even ready to be called a man yet) to call it in. When my girlfriend asked me to come to bed, I said, “Can’t. Inevitable no-hitter in progress. Meet you up there.” I didn’t even look away from the television.

She wasn’t happy.

One commercial break and four pitches later, the bid was over. And so was any chance I had of getting laid. Heir to the Padres’ royal throne, Tony Gwynn Jr., stroked an outside fastball into left field. Lincecum unraveled quickly thereafter, getting chased from the game mid-way through the seventh.

And the worst part is, if I have to choose between angering my girlfriend and watching Lincecum pitch again, I’d be hard up to make the “right” decision.

I have no doubt that Lincecum is going to be the most dominating pitcher of this era, barring any setbacks. I have no doubt that He (it looks good when you capitalize it) will throw a no-hitter, maybe even a perfect game. I have no doubt that He will be this year’s Cy Young award winner.

Come to think of it, it’s not really that hard of a choice.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Guess that means you stayed up and watched Sanchez’s no-no the next night. Was your girlfriend any more understanding?

    Jeremy

    July 12, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    • Dude, wish I did.

      I was so hungover that I fell asleep well before the game even started, so I missed all of it.

      How improbable that he would’ve done it.

      dylansharek

      July 13, 2009 at 2:29 pm


Leave a Reply

