Blogging About Baseball

162 games, even more blogs. From college to the minors to the pros. It's all here.

Milwaukee Brewer’s players are uber-humanitarians.

with 2 comments

This post comes courtesy of my friend Max. Max is one of the people that inspired me to follow my life’s goal and to start this blog. He also happens to be a Wisconsin native and a big Milwaukee Brewer’s fan.

Last week, he took a trip to the motherland and very graciously picked me up a little gift.

Some stars from the Brewer's team set.

Now, at first, this might look like any other team set that you can find at any number of major and minor league parks around the country. At second inspection, however, they’re much more than that.

Not only does each card prominently feature a star Brewer’s player (maybe Max kept Jason Kendall for himself), but they also feature some amazing words of profound wisdom from the player himself!

Rickie Weeks’ card says, “I always dreamed of playing in the big leagues. My road to the majors was filled with lots of ups and downs, but I made it with hard work and dedication. You, too, can achieve your goals with perseverance.”

That’s reasonable enough.

Corey Hart imparts, “Your body is a machine which must be fueled with proper nutrition, exercise, and plenty of rest.”

It’s cliche, but really it’s true.

Prince Fielder’s card says, “I come to the ballpark prepared to play. As a student, you must prepare yourself everyday by completing your homework.”

So that one’s a little bit of a stretch, but I can understand it. You gotta start ’em while they’re small.

And then we come to Bill Hall’s card. I didn’t expect it, but Bill is clearly the wisest player on the Brewers and also possibly all of baseball. His ability to turn the most simplistic baseball action into a serious life lesson, leaves me in awe. Hall’s card reads: “In baseball, runners must obey the signs given by the coaches. When riding your bicycle, obey all traffic laws and sign. They are meant to protect you.”

I can only imagine Bill’s mouth moving as he spoke these words of infinite wisdom.

Bill, you so smaaaaaaaaat.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I still liked Braun’s the best.

    Max

    May 23, 2009 at 1:54 am

  2. I’m a huge Brewers fan. They’ve always been my favourite teams in MLB, but they should be always competitive enough to keep pace with the others. Just read about them here:

    http://www.brewershome.com

    Louise

    June 16, 2009 at 1:46 pm


Leave a Reply

