Blogging About Baseball

162 games, even more blogs. From college to the minors to the pros. It's all here.

A funny thing happened on the way to Balco…

leave a comment »

I found this picture. And I just had to post it.

I can't tell if this is fake or not.

I’ll be the first to admit it: I didn’t think Barry Bonds was doing steroids.

I was young, naive, and didn’t want to admit that a stellar career was, when it boils down, a farce. I was uneducated. But then I read Moneyball, I read reports about steroids, I read about careers and the trends they follow, and I read about the physical effects. Finally, it clicked.

Bond’s head increased in size from 7 1/8 to 7 3/4. That’s after he shaved his head completely bald. His feet went from size 10 1/2 to 13. He hit 73 homeruns at an age when most guys are in the twilight of their career. These things simply do not happen to someone Bonds’ age unless they are using steroids or human growth hormone. The fact that there are 300 pages of text linking him in various ways to distributors and facilities is icing on the cake.

End of story.

Leave a Reply

