Blogging About Baseball

162 games, even more blogs. From college to the minors to the pros. It's all here.

I’m getting so sick and tired of Cub’s games…

leave a comment »

Can baseball fans please get nationally televised games from teams other than the Cubs, Red Sox, Yankees, Brewers, and Mets? Pretty please?

I’m well aware that most of these teams are in the biggest markets and that they’ll likely draw the biggest crowds and TV audience, but there is only so much I can take. I’m assuming I’m not the only one out there…

I don’t live in Chicago. I’m not at Wrigley Field. Cub’s games don’t hold the same allure to me as a beat-up, down-on-his-luck, I’ve-been-through-the-hard-times, fan. And the Brewers? Don’t even get me started. I’m probably the biggest fan that they’ll have outside of Wisconsin, but besides Ryan Braun and Prince Fielder, they house the most boring baseball product on Earth. And sure, Red Sox versus Yankees games are great in August and September and they deserved the television time during “The Rivalry,” but the games these days aren’t the same. There’s no Manny, no Pedro.

All the televised games are simple. It’s double-then-homer baseball, slugging instead of managing. I think that’s why I’m so tired of it. Chicks dig the longball though.

Give me the Rays versus Baltimore. I’ll take James Shields versus Jeremy Guthrie, two outstandingly solid hurlers, anyday of the week. I’ll take Joe Maddon and his Manager of the Year credentials. He’s got micro-managing his team to a T and it’s a thing of beauty to watch.

Gangster managing style.

While MLB Network televises its share of big market teams, I’ll be waiting for the Baltimore versus Kansas City game they’ll soon play.

Now that’ll be a good one.

Leave a Reply

